So my mother bought my girls some caterpillars off the internet….I could just stop there, that’s pretty funny if you think about it, but it was pretty neat watching them turn into a cacoon, or “crysallis” if you are a butterfly expert (a butterflyologist)…I thought it was a nice biology lesson and fun for the girls… So now after a few weeks we have butterflies in  two small screened in containers, the kids are happy, especially when they are in their room with the door shut and I get a call to get a butterfly out of the ceiling fan light fixture before he catches on fire and becomes a lightning bug! So meanwhile, while this all was going on, I did look at the instruction book a few times to make sure I didn’t kill the things before they hatched or bloomed or whatever you call it, and I did notice that it said the butterflies will live 2 weeks to 2 months (kinda stinks for the 2 weekers, but…) and get this, it said that their main purpose is to reproduce and lay eggs….. yes, I kinda skimmed over that the first time I read it….. so with that in mind….the other day before the great ceiling fan rescue, #2 comes in and yells, Dad! Dad! I got twins!!! “Really, Twins”? before it hit me…. “Twins”?  Yes! they’re stuck together in the back!!… and they aren’t flying!  “Wow!! Namma got yall Siamese Twin Butterflies!! I think they are real rare!!”  Good grief, so much for a biology experiment…I wasn’t ready for that talk…we are planning the great butterfly release of 2011 now.

and speaking of shopping…ok, I had no transition here, but, I went shopping a few weeks ago, and by shopping I mean I went to Lowes to pick up one thing that was pre-determined and it took my eight and a half minutes total….but I digress…what high up executive at Home Depot and Lowes decided that the best way to design a home supply store would be to put the entrance and exit doors at the extreme opposite ends of the store??  Every time I go to one of those stores I have a hard time parking, because I’m not sure if I want to walk a long way going in, or if I’d rather walk a long way when I come out with my buggy, and praying I don’t have to come out the contractors exit which is a half-mile jog back to the entrance.  Good grief, why can’t I just go in and out the same door people?  and God forbid I want to go “in” the “out”, noooo contrare!!, not a chance, and if you slip in when someone is going out, you get the condescending glance from the “all-knowing” cashier, like she dissaproves of this whole scene, but she’ll let it slide just this time!  If you need advice in this area….. I used to park close to the entrance to walk in, but then when they are busy, I come out to look for my white pickup truck and realize there are at least 58 white pickup trucks at Lowes in Pensacola at any one given time, so there I am with my buggy with one square wheel, knockin along, hitting my panic button looking for the white truck that is blinking an honking and trying to figure out how to turn off the panic button without… panicking….so yes, now I park near the exit and walk briskly to the entranceway while wondering if anyone ever tried to steal one of those lawn mowers out front that are all chained-up together…..

The escapee…

She had to have a turn too!!

The old butterfly on the face routine…

